Hinduism simplified for today's generation

The only way to demonstrate the richness of Hindu religion is to live it in our deeds and actions. We have to live by the principles of the religion and internalize them in ourselves. The only way to preach is by practice.
Screen Shot 2014-10-03 at 9.18.31 PM

  1. Satya (Truth)- Be truthful in your thoughts, words and actions. Let all 3 be synchronized, so that what you think, you say and do.
  2. Bramacharya (Purity of thought & deed) – Become content, give up lust for women, fame, wealth and power. I’m not saying give up your ambitions. Please don’t. Life is an opportunity to do great work, so don’t kill your ambitions. Achieve your ambitions by transforming your lust to Love. Love for your mother, sister, friend, wife, etc. Love for work and the joy it brings, Love for creative thought and the wonders it can create. Give up your greed and jealousy on others success. Be happy that the others are progressing. Build your dreams in reality on your mental strength, work smart, work hard, become knowledgeable, use the tools of knowledge for the service of others and at all time maintain purity of thought. Wealth, fame, power will seek you, when you work selflessly.
  3. Ahimsa (non-violence)- Become so mentally strong that hatred will not touch you. Anger only comes when we feel inferior to others. Make yourself physically and mentally strong. Be practical in your dealings, don’t let hatred and anger overcome you. Deal with everything and everyone with detachment from judgements and use your inner strength to influence value of Ahimsa in others. To understand Ahimsa, read the Bhagavad Gita and try to internalize the essence of what it means.
  4. Asteya (non-stealing) – Just like Brahmacharya, become content with what you have at the moment and strive hard with sincere effort, mental strength and strong self philosophy to achieve your dreams. Don’t steal from others i.e. don’t build your castle at the cost of others, but at the service of others.
  5. Pray and worship – religion is a deeply personal thing, and Hinduism respects that. Select your path, Bhakti, Gyana, Karma, Japa, etc. Yoga. Pick one practice and stick with it, maintain discipline and keep practicing. You will surely realize your spiritual goals. These practices will give you the strength to follow Satya, Brahmacharya, Ahimsa and Asteya.

I’ve only hand picked a few values, you may want to create your own list of 5 items and practice them sincerely. The goal of a Hindu is to purify the inner Self i.e. self-realization. Becoming a better Hindu is no different from becoming a better person. May the light of knowledge dawn on you and help you in this goal.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: